Blood Meridian or the Evening Redness In The West, Book Review#1!!!

Title: Blood Meridian or The Evening Redness In The West

Author: Cormac McCarthy

Book word count: 349

Review word count: 943

Blood Meridian or The Evening Redness In The West Review

51h4qou0ual-_sy344_bo1204203200_
From google, Book cover from Blood Meridian or The Evening Redness In The West

Hey people, so I have never wrote a book review before, so I apologize in advance if I mess something up. I read this book over the weekend and I was really excited to actually be able to share my opinion on it with somebody. Usually my way of expressing my opinion of a book is by buying a couple of extra copies of the book and throwing them at random strangers on the sidewalk and coming back a week later. It hasn’t worked… yet. Anyway I would to hear anyone else’s opinion so if anyone does read this I would love feedback. Thanks in advance for reading (:

If I had to describe my impression of Blood Meridian or The Evening Redness In The West in one word it would definitely be confusion. Not of me being confused of the plot or the writing style, but almost a moral dilemma for me. Being as young as young as I am you can end up taking things for granted. Whether it be the food on your plate, the roof over your head, or just the newest iPhone that is coming out. When reading this book I noted something else that I was taking for granted, something different. I took for granted what I thought were certainties in life. I believed there was a good and an evil. I believed everything beautiful was good and all of the nasty and disgusting was evil, but this book has given me a new angle on things and I’m not sure how to feel. Throughout the book you follow a character who is only referred to in the story as “The Kid” and at first you are meant to believe that the antagonist Judge Holden is just that, he is supposed to be the clear bad guy. However as you continue to read the line between good and evil becomes more and more confusing. Does the judge represent the devil and all that is wrong  with bad people gaining power. Or is he just the representation of a byproduct of an omnipotent omniscient Godlike being. I found this quote extremely interesting in the reading, that was said by judge Holden, and I feel that it gives perspective to this idea.

“Whatever in creation exists without my knowledge exists without my consent.”   – Cormac McCarthy, Blood Meridian or The Evening Redness In The West

If there is a Godlike being who has endless power, how can he tell the difference between right and wrong when the answer is sometimes neither. Should anything be in that situation? I don’t know but what I do know is this book is at the very least making me think and ponder about ideas which I never would have and if a book can do that I would genuinely enjoy it every time.

Do not take this as me forsaking God or whatever religion you do believe in, but see this as me simply attempting to figure out where I stand on these issues. When evil is used to fight evil does that make it justice? For the most part I think we can agree violence is wrong and evil under most circumstances. But I think there is a part of us as people that would see evil fighting evil as good. Here is a video that went viral for example *WARNING VIOLENCE AND PROFANITY ARE BOTH USED IN THIS VIDEO*. Here we have two students fighting in the middle of a classroom, and one of the students accidentally hits the teacher. Another student who was watching immediately jumps and knocks down the student who struck the teacher. The student who was fighting the other then attempts to attack the one who hit the teacher and the student from before fends him off as well. The room goes silent and the video ends. There are a lot of people who see this and have respect for the student who defended the teacher, me included. But why? He attacked two people. I and many people believe that their is a time for violence when it is used correctly. But wouldn’t that mean that there is sometimes beauty in evil? But let’s talk about something else briefly. Theoretically  if someone like Adolf Hitler (who is one of the worst people to ever exist in my opinion) was a magnificent artist could we appraise his work. Or has his wicked actions nullify his work? There are no right and wrong answers here, well if there are I don’t know them. What I do know is this was my exact thought process when reading Blood Meridian or The Evening Redness In The West. I believe that the best of books are there to tell a story and challenge your beliefs so you can grow on them. I don’t know if everyone would take this same idea into this book. Maybe you will get a completely different interpretation. Maybe I’m grasping at straws and trying to make something out of nothing. But I do challenge you to read it with this in mind because in my opinion because this book is a beautifully written, well constructed, horrifyingly confusing read and I would recommend it to anyone who has any interest in reading.

I hope you enjoyed my book review, it’s different but I had a lot of fun making it. If you liked it that’s amazing and I’m super happy you did. If you didn’t I’m sorry and I would love to know why. I really hope to hear back from anyone reading this that would be awesome. Next book I will read is Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, if you have any thoughts of something I should read let me know and I’ll read it. I hope you have a great day (:

Book word count: 349

Review word count: 943

 

5 thoughts on “Blood Meridian or the Evening Redness In The West, Book Review#1!!!

  1. I agree with your point that the best books exist to broaden and challenge your worldview, I just finished reading an existentialist book as well that has opened me up to new ideas (I think?).
    You raise a lot of thought provoking philosophical points. Despite what superhero movies and video games would tell you, you are completely correct in the lack of concrete morality in the world. Can we punish the thief who steals to feed his family? I was thinking about what you said regarding Adolf Hitler, and in my own opinion, I believe that you can appreciate an artist’s creations despite their personal sins. There is beauty and genius in Ezra Pound’s poetry despite his sympathy towards Fascism for most of his life. Mozart, John Lennon and Kanye West have all produced wondrous music despite their own arrogant and off-putting personalities.
    I’ve only read one of McCarthy’s books, No Country for Old Men, but I have seen several movie adaptations of his work. While I find his material to be very well constructed, it also tends to seem very pessimistic and depressing. One notable aspect of McCarthy’s life he had a traditional Catholic upbringing, and Catholicism is largely concerned with morality and the punishing of sins, (I say that as someone who grew up regularly attending Catholic Mass and Sunday School). I feel like this is an important factor in his writing, though that’s just my own opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked this comment, and I think your opinion is awesome. And definitely that this story is gloomy and somewhat depressing like No Country For Old Men. It’s definitely not the happiest book, but if you ever do end up reading it, I would love to hear what you think about it. because your comment is extremely well done and I would love to see what you think. (:

      Like

  2. 1st, I loved the quote! But, I also really enjoyed your video analogy. It made me think about the good vs. evil and your saying that can/is beauty in evil. If you book review made me think that deeply about good and evil and virtue, i’m really interested in reading your book and If I were one of those stranger on the street, I would definitely pick up the book and read it. hahaha

    Like

    1. Hahaha okay well good to know it would have worked on at least one person 😂. Next time I see you I’ll make sure to throw the biggest book I have as hard as I can at you! But yeah in all seriousness, this book really made me think,and tries showing that things aren’t always simple and how we expect them to be. You should definitely read this book with this in mind, it’s really fun. If you ever do, do’the hesitate to share your opinion with me asap!

      Like

  3. Your review on this book has a valid point and made me think but this book seemed so depressing I wouldn’t think about grabbing this book. Your opinion is great and I like your quote.

    Like

Leave a Reply

