IT’S MONDAY WHAT ARE YOU READING PEOPLE?!?

5e8aa78c4931737546b7fe6bbe766aac
Frankenstein book cover, from Pinterest

 

Sorry that the title is in caps, I promise I’m not yelling at you. Anyway what’s up people, I hope you had a great weekend and are as excited for Monday as we all are! So for an update of what I’ve been doing, I’ve been reading Frankenstein by Mary Shelly and I am in love. It is amazing and I cannot put it down I am on page 175 of 203 and I had to slow myself down immensely because I really don’t want to finish this book, but I do. It’s more of I love it so much, I’m sad to see it end.

When I read things I try to take a philosophical question that the book is trying to make me think about, even if it isn’t there is no crazy philosophical questions to be asked. However in Frankenstein, there is one blatantly obvious question that pops out in the story, what does it mean to be human?  I’m not going to go too in depth now because I will be doing a book review next week but it is an interesting question to think about. It is the monster in Frankenstein who goes on to say

“Life, although it may only be an accumulation of anguish, is dear to me, and I will defend it.”

*SOMEWHAT OF A SPOILER ALERT ABOUT FALLOUT 4 FROM HERE ON OUT* Here’s a fun fact about me, I love video games, I love them with a passion. For so many reasons but I’m not going into that right now. One of my favorite games of all time is the fallout series. Although I don’t think it is as good as New Vegas,  I want to talk about Fallout 4 briefly. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the game essentially you are in a  nuclear apocalypse world two hundred years in the future. In fallout series, the invention of the transmitter was never invented. So during the 50s, people went into nuclear technology instead of what we have today. As a result, the televisions and the computers and such are much less advanced than what they are now, however they do have interesting technology, such as laser pistols and awesome power suits. So you start off in the year 2077 and you get to see one of the nuclear blast go off, while you are rushed to an underground vault only for select people. The people of the vault end up tricking you and freeze you. You wake up momentarily to see a man steal your infant child and murder your wife. You then go back to being frozen and awaken once again. This time you escape the vault and start your journey to find your son.

Now there is a rumor of this organization known as the institute who abducts people and no one is sure why. Naturally, that is where you begin your search and there is a man who finds abducted people named Nick Valentine. He is what the games refers to as a synth or an artificial human being. With giving no more spoilers (although I don’t think I did) of the video game, you have an option to roam through the wasteland with him in search for your son. If you do, you can eventually build a relationship with him and become very good friends. You find out that he is dealing with very complex issues of who he is or if he is a person at all. He has memories of his past life, even has the same mannerisms and emotions, however, he does not know if it is enough to be considered human. In my ending for Nick Valentine, he never finds out his identity crisis but takes pride in what he has done. He is an example of who you are being what you do and nothing else. He does good for others, therefore his entire identity is about doing good and that’s enough for him. At the end of the day, what is being human? Is it the biological aspect of our bodies? Or is it something more, is identity a dumb idea to be chasing after anyway, or is knowing who you are important to making yourself a better person? I don’t know, but I like to believe who you are, where you come from is not important, helping others and doing the best you can with your current situations seems pretty human to me.

Anyway, I would love to hear your thoughts on this, do you like it or am I just reaching for nothing and should just shut up and play the game and go get destroyed by deathclaws already. Feedback is always appreciated and I hope you enjoyed and have a great week (:

PS. All hyperlinks came from Giphy, and the image for Frankenstein came from Pinterest of a cover for the book Frankenstein by Mary Shelly.

Word count: 779

Leave a Reply

