Frankenstein, Book Review#2!!

Title: Frankenstein

Author: Mary Shelley

Book Word count: 203

Review Word count: 1119

Frankenstein Review

20170206_050002.jpg

What’s up people? It’s been a while, you look well. Not mad that you didn’t call or anything, I was doing some important stuff too… Sorry for the weird intro I am currently writing this at 4 In the morning because somehow I convinced myself I should do this after the super bowl. Fun fact about me I cannot stay awake past twelve, like ever. Either way enough of the nonsense, let’s about Frankenstein.

So, out of every picture ever made from Frankenstein, I could have chosen any out of thousands and it would have worked just fine for this blog post. But I chose this one. Well, there are two reasons on why I did that. One, my first attempt at this picture was a selfie, but I looked beyond horrible. And two I found my copy’s book cover to be the most profound and meaningful to the story. Here’s another little fun fact or a little tidbit about me. I absolutely love nature and at the risk of sounding like a hippy, one of my favorite things in nature is a dead tree. I feel as if they have a story to be told in everything about it. The fact that they were abandoned by their leaves, how they did by possible never leaving from their one spot, but most of all I love looking at their branches. How they connect and disconnect from one another. The ways they intertwine is in my opinion, one of the most beautiful things in all nature. Whenever I see a tree like this I always think of the branches as decisions. How one can just flow and how something you thought could never be relevant to something eventually finds its way over. It’s really one of the most poetic thins in all nature. And I cannot stop thinking between the parallel between this tree and the story Frankenstein. The book Frankenstein has many themes and is incredibly well written and I feel one of the main themes in the story is decisions and free will. Throughout the story, Victor Von Frankenstein makes it adamant that he does no believe in the idea of free will. He is often saying that he was born to do this, and I am not sure how far genetic research was at the time, they often mention breeding and being a product of your mother and father in contrast to becoming your own person.

“I thank you,” he replied, “for your sympathy, but it is useless; my fate is nearly fulfilled. I wait but for one event, and then I shall repose in peace” – Frankenstein, Mary Shelley

****SPOILERS FROM HERE ON OUT, SORRY ):****

This is a quote from the Victor in one of his letters and I think the premise of it is pretty obvious. There is no combating faith if you were born to do something that is what you must do. However, the monster he created is, at first, a direct contrast to his very idea. The monster is born ugly and hideous and strange compared to everyone else, and when he tries to fit in with everyone else he is shunned. He experiences anger for every being created and is compelled to revenge and violence. However, throughout the story, we learn that the monster is very intelligent and compassionate, but in the end, fate could not be avoided.

But let’s play with this idea of free will in the story. If fate controls all of the actions that we do can we be held accountable for anything we do? Are we just being puppeteered by some guy in the sky and is he to blame for all that I have done wrong and all that bad that has happened to me in my life. And if this is the case what separates us from any other form of life? If the Doctor couldn’t control his fate any more than the monster could what separates us from the characters at all? When bad situations happen to us, it is natural to curse what we believe to be our creator and even feel anger towards it. Even if we are never completely positive that it exist. However, in the monster’s case, he personally knew his God. Who is to say we would act any differently given the chance. Maybe that’s all of our fates, maybe we were just born to one day destroy and curse those that give us life. Maybe one of the main points of ever existing is just to simply build resentment so one day we can eradicate our creator.

There are not many guarantees in life, one is pain. We are brought into this world and we create pain for whoever bringing into life. We live every day hoping for happiness but it is never promised and is often seen as foreign when found. Pain, however, is ubiquitous. No matter how easy you think someone’s life in comparison to yours, tribulations are universal. The second and only other thing that is guaranteed in life is death. It will not last forever, everyone will one day pass away. Is all the pain and suffering just one giant build up for a battle between man and God, peasant vs Creator, son vs Father? Is it preordained? Are we going to curse our creator or just accept death and use our decisions as lessons for whoever analyzes us well enough? Do we share the fate of the monster, or can we accept out malfortune and embrace death with grace like a tree?

Frankenstein is the first book to ever make me think about this before, it has never even been an afterthought for me. It is one of the Greatest books ever written, if you have not read it before, I suggest you go and buy this book as soon as possible. It is riveting, and definitely in my top three favorite books of all time. I am curious to hear what you guys think, let me know if you think I have a point, or am I just sounding like a crazy person. If you do end up reading it, read it with this in mind and it should be fun. Anyway if you’ve made it this far, thank you and I hope you have an amazing freaking day (:

P.S. Tom Brady your life is way too good man, I think that’s why I don’t like you. Like we get it you’re the best player to ever play, but let the dolphins win one every now and then, it’s not like you need it.

Book Word count: 203

Review Word count: 1119

3 thoughts on “Frankenstein, Book Review#2!!

  1. I’ve heard so many different people talk about the themes in this book before(The fate vs. free will or the nature vs. nurture arguments) but you’re the first person to put it so well into words. I read this book for my AP Literature class in 11th grade and I loved it. Reading your review makes me want to read it again!

    Like

  2. I had to read this book in high school and thought it was good but not great. Your book review definitely did this book justice and I would totally agree with your description and opinion on the book. This review refreshed my memory of the book and clarified my memory of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

